Three (3) Paulinian Accountancy students along with their coach Dr. Giged T. Battung joined the 8th ASEAN Accounting Education Workgroup (AAEW) Conference with Sustainability Accounting and Business Student Competition, Workshop on Material Flow Cost Accounting and Circular Economy: A Sustainable Business to Create Value at the Universitas Trisakti, Jakarta, Indonesia last December 06-08, 2018.

The AAEW consists of ASEAN accounting educators who serve as core group to collaborate in research, case development and instructional design for accounting education. It aims to provide input to and empower higher education accounting programs across ASEAN countries, enhancing their ability to produce graduates who can compete in the global accounting market.

One of the highlights of the event was the Business Student Competition facilitated by Juniati Gunawan, PhD, Director of Trisakti Sustainability Center. The thirty-three (33) teams from the AAEW Universities were given a case study through e-mail on Material Flow Cost Accounting for analysis. The SPUP student-delegates were grouped as Team Pablo whose members were Celine Joy Yoma, Karla Mae Eder, and Camille Grace Cabillon.

The competition required the teams to complete the case study analysis and the panel had to choose from the prepared documents which groups will qualify for the final round. Fourteen teams were selected for the final round including Team Pablo and they had to present their analysis of the Material Flow Cost Accounting and Business Sustainability in front of the panel at Trisakti University. Moreover, the students had a firm visit to the Siam Cement Group Jakarta for a half day seminar on the entity’s better practices for Business Sustainability.

In addition, the AAEW members had their annual meeting presided by Dr. Nanny Dewi Tanzil, president of AAEW from Universitas Pagjadjaran, Indonesia. Only six universities in the Philippines were represented namely: University of Sto. Tomas (Manila), Far Eastern University (Manila), Ateneo de Naga University (Naga City), St. Louis University (Baguio City), and St. Paul University Philippines (Tuguegarao City) . The other members came from universities from Singapore, Malaysia, and Indonesia.