February 17, 2021 – SPUP has been accepted as an Associate Member of the Asian Association of Open Universities (AAOU). SPUP is one of only 15 Universities accepted as associate member in the said international organization. The membership is in recognition of SPUP’s active role in delivering quality education in Asia by distance and open teaching systems, and in promoting educational opportunities, professional commitment, and ethical standards to variety of learners.

The other associate member-institutions are: Arab Open University (Kuwait), Anadolu University (Turkey), Don Mariano Marcos State University (Philippines), Manipal GlobalNxt University (India), University of Mumbai (India), International Open University (Qatar), Maulana Azad National Urdu University (India), Manipur International University (India), Mongolian University of Science and Technology (Mongolia), Northern Island University (United Kingdom), SEAMEO INNOTECH (with headquarters in the Philippines), SEAMEOLEC (with headquarters in Indonesia), The University of Hongkong (Hongkong), and Universiti Sains Malaysia (Malaysia).

The AAOU, a member of International Council for Open and Distance Education, is a non-profit organization of higher learning institutions that are primarily concerned with open and distance education. It is based in Universitas Terbuka (Indonesia Open University) in Banten, Indonesia.